Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Television Shows

What Order Should I Watch Vampire Diaries, Originals & Legacies: Watch Order Netflix & Prime Videos

Vampire Diaries The Originals Legacies
'The Vampire Diaries', 'The Originals' and 'Legacies'

LEt’s check out the Watch Order for Vampire Diaries. The show has made a huge impact on the audience since it was first released in the year 2009. This American television series was based on a popular novel with the same name written by an American author named Lisa Jane Smith. The series became so popular that it made way for the release of another spin-off series, ‘The Originals’. This spin-off series first aired during the fall of 2013. Then came another spin-off series from ‘The Originals’ known as ‘Legacies.’ This fantasy drama first premiered in the year 2018 and recently aired the finale of its third season in June 2021. Therefore, the new audiences of these shows are often looking for the watch order of these shows.

The theory of vampires has always fascinated people from all parts of the world. Therefore, the movie and the television industries have been making so many movies and series on this concept. But one of the most popular stories based on the concept of vampires came from the universe of ‘The Vampire Diaries, which includes ‘The Originals’ and ‘Legacies.’ ‘The Vampire Diaries’ has eight seasons. ‘The Originals’ has five seasons, and ‘Legacies’ currently has three complete seasons. Although ‘The Vampire Diaries’ and ‘The Originals’ have concluded, ‘Legacies’ is still running.

How To Watch

The Vampire Diaries

The Link Between Their Storylines

Although ‘The Originals’ features the first vampires ever to exist in this universe, this spin-off series does not focus mainly on their pasts. It does feature a lot of flashbacks from the past lives of the original vampire siblings. However, the series tells its own story rather than being a prequel to ‘The Vampire Diaries.’ In addition to that, ‘Legacies’ continues the story of a character named “Hope Mikaelson.” Hope featured in the ‘The Originals’ and is the daughter of “Klaus Mikaelson” and “Hayley Marshall,” who were among the main actors of ‘The Originals.’

But it all begins with ‘The Vampire Diaries,’ which introduced all these storylines. ‘The Vampire Diaries’ featured an ordinary teenage girl “Elena Gilbert” from a town named Mystic Falls. It all begins when she becomes the love interest of two vampire brothers, Stefan Salvatore and Damon Salvatore, who are over 160 years old. The story goes on as she first romances the younger brother of the two vampires in the early seasons of the show. Although, she, later on, develops feelings for the older brother Damon after her breakup with Stefan. ‘The Originals’ were introduced in the second season of ‘The Vampire Diaries.’

How To Watch

The Originals

However, the most powerful sibling of all the originals, “Klaus Mikaelson,” the first-ever hybrid, was introduced first. The other original siblings featured in the third season of ‘The Vampire Diaries.’ Other than that, ‘The Vampire Diaries’ has had characters who have appeared in the other two spin-offs. Both the shows did have crossovers a few times, but they featured completely different stories. ‘Legacies,’ on the other hand, started after the end of ‘The Originals’. Although its story is based in the same town of Mystic Falls from ‘The Vampire Diaries.’

Also Read:Β Injustice Animated Movie: Everything We Know

How To Watch ‘The Vampire Diaries, ‘The Originals’ and ‘Legacies’ In Order?

‘The Vampire Diaries was the first show to premiere among the three in the year 2009 and ended in 2017. ‘The Originals’ first aired in 2013, although the characters of the show were first introduced in ‘The Vampire Diaries’ in seasons 2 and 3. ‘Legacies’ premiered in 2018 after ‘The Originals’ ended in the same year. So here is the watch order of these shows as per their year of release.

What Order Should I Watch The Vampire Diaries

  • The Vampire Diaries Season 1: Aired between 2009-2010
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 2: Aired between 2010-2011 (Introduction of Klaus Mikaelson)
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 3: Aired between 2011-2012 (Introduction of The Originals)
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 4: Aired between 2012-2013
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 5: Aired between 2013-2014
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 6: Aired between 2014-2015
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 7: Aired between 2015-2016
  • The Vampire Diaries Season 8: Aired between 2016-2017

What Order Should I Watch The Originals

  • The Originals Season 1: Premiered in the year 2013-2014
  • The Originals Season 2: Premiered in the year 2014-2015
  • The Originals Season 3: Premiered in the year 2015-2016
  • The Originals Season 4: Premiered in the year 2016-2017
  • The Originals Season 5: Premiered in the year 2017-2018
How To Watch


What Order Should I Watch Legacies

  • Legacies Season 1: Released in 2018
  • Legacies Season 2: Released in 2019
  • Legacies Season 3: Released in 2021

Even though these shows have shared and featured several characters from each other, they have their respective storylines. ‘The Originals’ and ‘The Vampire Diaries’ had crossovers, but they do not have any particular chronological order to watch. The fans can watch these shows one after the other or simultaneously, as they see fit. Although ‘The Vampire Diaries’ and ‘The Originals’ have ended, they can be binged on Netflix and Amazon Prime Video. At the same time, ‘Legacies’ can be watched on Prime video as well.

Also Read:Β Archive Movie Ending Explained: All About The 2020 Sci-Fi

Written By

Binge-watching is my thing and I love to write down my views about everything DC, Marvel, and superhero stuff! I also cover most of the Television categories. Sometimes you will find me writing about Entertainment as well. You can reach out to me at

Follow Us

Get your favorite shows delivered to your inbox once a week.

Don't worry. We don't spam.