Nelly Korda is one of the brightest stars in the world of professional golf. She’s the younger sister to fellow golf pro player Jessica Korda. And in recent times, Nelly has caught the attention of the sports press after some issues concerning her health issue. Something that raised concerns among her fans and those who follow women’s pro golf. The issue, which dates back to last year when Korda was apparently diagnosed with a blood clotting problem, managed to still get traction and people were left wondering about her health.
24-year-old Korda once ranked number one, is currently situated in the top five in the LPGA and currently ranks number one in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings. So we know she’s good. But in March 2022, Korda was diagnosed with a blood clotting disorder that manifested in her upper right limb, causing many golf fans to worry about her health. Besides her health status, Nelly was also in the spotlight last year at the Solheim Cup, when a controversial shot that was overhanging caused a discussion between her team, the judges, and the opinions of fellow golfer Madelene Sagstrom over the points granted. So, let’s explore what’s been going on with Nelly and try to make sense of it all.
What Happened To Nelly Korda?
As stated earlier, back in March 2022, pro golfer Nelly Korda told the public that she had been diagnosed with a blood clot in her right arm which caused her coach and team to force her to withdraw from the LPGA Cambia Portland Classic. The 23-year-old golfer shared the news on her social media accounts, stating that she had experienced swelling and pain in her arm after playing at a big tournament earlier that month. But things came out okay for Korda afterward, who came to win her primer LPGA of this season, and stayed as number one, but feels bad about people currently bringing back the blood clot issues.
Also Read: Nelly Korda Net Worth: How Much Does the Olympic Medalist Earn?
The Solheim Cup Controversy
During the team competition Solheim Cup last year, a controversy arose between Team USA with Nelly Korda and Madelene Sagström after the latter picked up a ball too soon after Korda made her hit and officials awarded Korda and her team the winning point, leaving the Catriona Matthew —Team Europe’s Captain— very upset. After Korda took a putt during the 13th hole, the ball rested right at the edge of the hole, and Madelene Sagström, wanting to speed things up, picked up the ball and threw it to Korda.
After careful review, the judges invoked Rule 13.3b, penalizing Sagström for picking up the ball before the waiting time concluded. Korda and her teammates were content about the ruling. But Sagström et al. did not do so much, voicing their angst and discomfort over the ruling. It’s fair to say though, that Korda didn’t say anything when Madelene Sagström picked up the ball. And while Korda later commented that it was a weird way to win, it paved for golfing circles to debate the play, and comment on the controversy, as it is a rule that is not very often called.
Korda Defends The Rules
Korda’s game during that Solheim Cup was on top. She scored a 20ft eagle on the thirteenth hole on par five. That shot, ending with the controversial putt that put the ball at the edge of the hole had, according to the rules to wait for ten seconds if it was going to move. And Sagström’s actions to speed up play cost her team the hole. When golf referee Missy Jones came out after Sagström picked up the ball, she let the Europe team member that shot counted as a successful one. It’s an eagle as a result of the golfer’s error. Korda and her team went on to win that match against Team Europe, but in the end, Team Europe lifted the trophy after they defeated the Americans 15 to 13. And sparking quite a debate concerning rules.
Also Read: Who Is Nelly Korda Dating? About Her New Love Interest