Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

K-Drama

Today’s Webtoon Episode 16: Release Date, Preview & Spoilers

2022 k-drama series
Today's Webtoon Season Finale

The ongoing coming-of-age K-drama series Today’s Webtoon has reached its 15th episode. With the perfect balance of comedy and drama, this series is built around the lead character, On Ma Eum, played by the actress Kim Se Jeong. Ma Eum used to be a member of the National Judo team. She was once very passionate about sports. But her life soon took a wrong turn, and her dreams were shattered. A sudden accident forced her to work for a career as a webtoon editor. She joined the editorial department of a webtoon company. 

Today’s Webtoon was first released in a manga series called “Juhan Shuttai!” written by Naoko Matsuda. This series has been adapted from the same manga. Directed by Jo SOo Won and Kim Young Hwan, the drama series premiered on 29th July 2022. Besides Kim Se Jeong, it also stars Choi Daniel as Ma Eum’s co-worker Seok Ji Hyung and Nam Yoon Su as Goo Jun Yeong. 

According to Nielsen Korea, About 735,000 viewers were present to watch the season premiere. The viewers on Google have rated the series a 4.9 out of 10. IMDb has given it a 7.4 out of 10, whereas NME gave it a 3 out of 5.

Also Read: Secret Boutique K-Drama Ending Explained: All We Know!

Today’s Webtoon Review

Since the K-drama series has been adapted from a manga, fans had extraordinary expectations before it even premiered. But there was always a worry about how the character of Ma Eum will be portrayed. To the creator’s relief, Kim Se Jeong’s acting has impressed the fans. Kim Se Jeong is no stranger to the limelight. Besides being an actress, she’s also a talented singer. She appeared in the survival game show called Produce 101 and acquired the third position. She was also a part of the girl group Gugudan. If you have loved Se Jeong in the series School or The Uncanny Counter, you might love Ma Eum in Today’s Webtoon as well.

Despite going through so much, Ma Eum has successfully held onto her innocence and naivety, which have made the viewers fall in love with her. However, the plotline seems a bit stretched at times. Sometimes it feels that the creators bit more than they could chew. While Se Jeong was asked about Ma Eum’s character, she said that Ma Eum is “kind of like charcoal.” She elaborated saying that Ma Eum reminds her of a “small spark of fire” that lights up “when the wind blows.” 

Though it starts with a serious plotline, it is much more light-hearted than expected. However, some of the romantic angles seem to appear out of nowhere. Some scenes also feel very long. Scenes like Goo Jun Yeong’s case or Shin Dae Ryuk’s case could have been cut shorter. Some fans have also expressed their dislike for the way the relationship between parents and children was portrayed.

today's websoon

Ma Eum

The best thing about this series is definitely the chemistry between the actors. While talking about how their first day of shooting went, they all shared their nervousness in unison. Actor Nam Yoon Su said how awkward it was to shoot with people they barely know. Besides feeling nervous, Yoon Su also informed how he felt a “heart-fluttering excitement” as well. 

Today’s Webtoon Episode 16 Release Date

With the season finale approaching, the series is wrapping up everything that is left over. Since the premiere on 29th July 2022, the show is being aired on Fridays and Saturdays of every week at 10:00 pm KST. In the other time zones, it will be released at: 

  • 6:30 pm IST on 17th September 2022, Saturday
  • 6:00 am PST on 17th September 2022, Saturday
  • 9:00 am EST on 17th September 2022, Saturday
  • 11:00 pm AEST on 17th September 2022, Saturday
  • 8:00 am CST on 17th September 2022, Saturday
slice of life

A Still From Today’s Webtoon

The series will run on the network SBS TV. For watching on streaming platforms, it will also be available on the app Rakuten Viki. With the Viki pass, you will be able to access any series or reality TV shows from the site.

Also Read: Top 15 Slice of Life K-Dramas You Should Watch

Written By

I'm Antara Mallick, an Intern in web content writing. You can find me writing about TV series, reality shows, and Kdramas.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 × 2 =