Inuyasha Watch Order: Anime & Movies

Published Categorized as List No Comments on Inuyasha Watch Order: Anime & Movies
Inuyasha (Credits: Sunrise)

Inuyasha is one of the classics when it comes to romantic anime with comedy and shounen elements. It was prevalent in the early 2000s and had a lot of different series, movies, and spinoffs, which can make the watch order for the anime a bit difficult to remember. You can use this article to help you remember the proper watch order by adding it to your bookmarks.

Inuyasha means “dog yaksha” and is adapted from the manga of the same name written by Rumiko Takahashi. The manga has received worldwide appreciation and is among the best-selling mangas of all time, with around fifty million copies in circulation by September 2020. Inuyasha is different from any of the author’s previous works. Takahashi had written great manga like Urusei Yatsura and Maison Ikkoku and always had a comedic tone to her stories.

Inuyasha was different, though. Inuyasha mainly dealt with darker and more serious subject matters. The story setting of the Sengoku period in Japan also helped her showcase violence and dark elements while also retaining comedic elements. She also included romanticism in the story, blending all of the elements to create a truly wonderful story that is enjoyable both in the manga and in the anime.

Inuyasha (Credits: Sunrise)

The anime series has a number of sequels and movies that tell the story part by part. The watch order to follow for Inuyasha is the chronological order in which the installments in the series were released. Here is the watch order for Inuyasha:

Also read: Bleach Watch Order: Anime Episodes & Movies

1. Inuyasha (2000-2004)

The first installment of the Inuyasha series is the first-ever anime adaptation of the series, released in October 2000. The total number of episodes in the first season is 167, with each episode having 24 minutes of average runtime. You have to stop between episodes to watch the movies; you can watch them later as well, but watching them in between the series makes the experience overall better.

Read:   40 Best Fashion Movies To Watch Right Now
inu and higurashi
Left: Inuyasha, Right: Kagome Higurashi (Credits: Sunrise)

The first season starts the story by introducing the characters and the concept of the story to the audience. When Kagome Higurashi, a fifteen-year-old girl, falls into a well, she is transported to Sengoku period Japan. There she meets with a half-dog demon and half-human, Inuyasha, the dog-yaksha. The story then advances, portraying the adventures and challenges of both of them.

2. The Inuyasha Movies

The Inuyasha series has a total of four feature films under its serialization. All the films did great and are considered commercial successes. The first movie, Inuyasha: Affections Touching Through Time, released in 2001, needs to be watched after episode 54 in the series. After watching the movie, you can resume the series from episode 55.

The second Inuyasha movie, Inuyasha the Movie: The Castle Beyond the Looking Glass, released in 2002, needs to be watched after episode 110 in the first season of Inuyasha. After watching the movie, you can resume the series normally from episode 111.

sword from honourable ruler
Still from Sword Of Honourable Ruler. (Credit: Sunrise)

The third Inuyasha movie, “Swords of an Honourable Ruler,” was released in 2003 and should be watched after episode number 138 in the first season of Inuyasha. After watching the movie, you can continue the rest of the series from episode 139. The fourth and last movie in the Inuyasha series, “Fire on the Mystic Island,” can be watched after completing the first season of Inuyasha.

Also Read: Violet Evergarden Watch Order Guide

3. Inuyasha: The Final Act

Inuyasha: The Final Act is a sequel that was long awaited by the fans of the series. This sequel continues the story from the end of season one and proceeds to tell the remaining story of the manga to the audeince. It has a total of 26 episodes, with each episode having an average runtime of 25 minutes.

Left: Kagome Higurashi, Right: Inuyasha (Credits: Sunrise)

This season was released after a long five-year break in 2009 from the initial ending of the first season. It was well received by the fandom community of the series and was appreciated for its improved animation quality.

4. Yashahime: Princess Half Demon

Yashahime: Princess Half Demon can be considered to be Inuyasha Next Generations, similar to another anime, Boruto: Naruto Next Generations, but it did not receive a lot of criticism from the audience as compared to Boruto. The majority of the fans of the Inuyasha franchise were happy to see the show return after a long break. The show is split into two parts, which aired after a short break in between the first and second parts.

Left: Towa Higurashi, Right: Moroha (Credits: Sunrise)

The first half of the two-part anime series Yashahime: Princess Half Demon contains 24 episodes, with an average runtime of 24 minutes. From October 2020 to March 2021, it was broadcast. A total of 24 episodes, each lasting 25 minutes, made up the second part, Yashahime: Princess Half Demon The Second Act. From October 2021 to March 2022, the show was on.

Read:   Aharen San Wa Hakarenai Season 2 Release Date: Aharen and Raidou To Start Dating

The 48 episodes that make up both parts have received positive reviews from both the new and old Inuyasha fans. The new sequels carried on the legacy of the original Inuyasha characters by introducing new characters and following a new plot in the same world as the original.

Also Read: Code Geass Watch Order: Anime, Movies & OVAs

By Avi Shravan

Avi Shravan is an Undergrad Journalism Student who likes everything Anime. He lives in Jamshedpur, a city of Jharkhand, India. He likes to read books, watch anime and create stories. Rest he does everything a normal guy does. You can contact him at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + one =